The springs were used for thousands of years by nomadic Native Americans. The Chemehuevi, Desert Cahuilla and Yuma bands frequented the spring and carved elaborate petroglyphs in the nearby rocks. Some of the oldest rock art is over 10,000 years old. At times, there was enough surface water for gardening by the springs. The Indians also utilized the fruit of the palms.
Early white visitors found feral corn plants in the vicinity, giving the spring its present name.
In the late 19th century, miners came to the area and used the water for processing their gold ore. The most notable resident of the spring was Gus Lederer, the self-proclaimed “Mayor of Corn Springs”. Lederer lived at the spring until 1932, when he died from a black widow spider bite, and was subsequently buried at Aztec Wells”. Following Lederer’s death in 1932, the land passed into public domain administered by the Bureau of Land Management.